The objective of this IRN-FJFPB (IRN-France-Japan Frontiers in Plant Biology) consists in forming a structured network of leader plant scientists in France and in Japan. This IRN-FJFPB proposal is conceived to reinforce the collaborative research between multidisciplinary groups by exchanging information, ideas and cutting-edge experimental approaches. For this objective, the project will deploy multiple scientific activities including: (1) bilateral symposiums, (2) exchanges of young and senior researchers, (3) training of young researchers (PhD students and postdocs), (4) summer schools and workshops, (5) publication of articles in a special thematic issue of a scientific journal, and (6) promotion of joint research programs.
Since 1991, the plant science community of the two countries has organised bilateral symposiums that played an essential role in fostering partnerships. The establishment of international joint research projects has contributed to the production of co-publications of primary importance by group-to-group and individual collaborations.

Coordinator France: François ROUDIER, Professeur ENS de Lyon, Plant Development and Reproduction laboratory (RDP) UMR CNRS5667-INRAE879-UCB Lyon 1, 69364 Lyon Cedex 07, France, E-mail

Coordinator Japan: Takayuki KOHCHI, Professor, Kyoto University, Graduate School of Biostudies, 606-8502 Kyoto, Japan, E-mail


Historical context of the collaboration

The France-Japan collaboration between plant biologists has a long history. Firstly, the bilateral symposiums initiated in 1991 have played a primary role in boosting collaborations by enabling plant scientists of the two countries to share their experience and see their complementarities. Since the first symposium at Canet en Roussillon, 11 symposiums have been organised alternatively in France and in Japan.

The last GDRI-IPB (Integrative Plant Biology) (2014-2017), which was the first long-term bilateral project, involved 13 signatory major research institutions in France (CNRS, INRAE, CEA, Universities, etc.) and 5 signatory major research Institutions in Japan (RIKEN, The University of Tokyo, Kyoto University, Osaka University…).